Ecuador

Here are some pictures from a trip to Ecuador with Alpine Ascents International in November/December 2010.

Full gallery (101 pictures).

Sat 27 Nov: La Mitad del Mundo and Museo Inti Ņan.
Sun 28 Nov: Census day. Evening visit to Old Town Quito.
Mon 29 Nov: Cable car. Ruco Pichincha (4698m) acclimatization hike.
Tue 30 Nov: Las Termas de Papallacta. Acclimatization hike to ridge.
Wed 1 Dec: Drive to Antisana base camp. Afternoon acclimatization hike.
Thu 2 Dec: Skills review.
Fri 3 Dec: Prepare for climb.
Sat 4 Dec: Climb Antisana (5758m). Aborted at 06:30 (5400m) due to no straighforward route on the glacier. Start 23:52 (Friday). Finish 09:30.
Sun 5 Dec: Chilcabamba lodge. Drive to Cotopaxi National Park.
Mon 6 Dec: Drive then walk to Jose Ribas Refuge (4800m).
Tue 7 Dec: Climb Cotopaxi (5896m). Start 01:00. Summit 07:00. Finish 10:00.
Wed 8 Dec: La Cienega Hostelry. Hacienda San Agustin de Callo. Chimborazo Basecamp lodge.
Thu 9 Dec: Drive to Carrel hut (4862m). Walk to Whymper refuge (5047m).
Fri 10 Dec: Climb Chimborazo (6268m). Start 0:00. Summit 06:45. Finish 09:45.
Sat 11 Dec: Drive along the Avenue of the Volcanoes back to Quito.


[Home]
Jon Herring [created 19-Dec-2010, modified 17-Oct-2015]