Cordillera Huayhuash

Here are some pictures from a trip the Cordillera Huayhuash in Peru in May/June 2007 with KE Adventure.

Full gallery (105 pictures).

Sun 27 May: Drive from Lima to Huaraz (3090m).
Mon 28 May: Acclimatization walk above Huaraz (3600m).
Tue 29 May: Drive then acclimatization walk to Laguna Churup (4450m).
Wed 30 May: Drive from Huaraz to start of trek at Quero (3400m), with stop in Chiquian.
Thu 31 May: Walk to Mahuay (3800m) then to camp (4100m), afternoon walk above camp (4700m).
Fri 1 June: Over Milua (4600m) and Ishpac passes (4700m) to camp at Quartelhuain (4200m).
Sat 2 June: Over the Catananpunta pass (4680m), down to hot spring, camp at Janca (4250m), afternoon walk to lake.
Sun 3 June: Over the Carhuac pass (4630m), camp above Carhuacocha (4290m).
Mon 4 June: Walk down to Carhuacocha, up to Siulacocha and Querococha, return to camp.
Tue 5 June: Back up to Siulacocha and Querococha, then across Siula Punta (4830m), camp at Huayhuash (4390m).
Wed 6 June: Walk up to Portachuelo de Huayhuash 4800m, down to camp beside Barrosochocha (4600m), afternoon walk above camp (4830m).
Thu 7 June: Walk up to Punta Trapecio (5050m), viewpoint above pass (5150m), down to camp (4610m).
Fri 8 June: Walk up to pass (5080m), down to camp at Cutatambo (4320m).
Sat 9 June: Walk to viewpoint above Laguna Sarapo (4690m), down to camp further down valley (4160m).
Sun 10 June: Walk up to pass (4500m), down to stream (4230m), up to second pass (4550m), traverse to camp (4480m).
Mon 11 June: Walk up to Punta Tarpush (4800m), Cerro Jyamy (5000m), down to camp (4550m).
Tue 12 June: Walk up to Punta Jahuacocha (4860m), hill above pass (4960m), down to camp at Jahuacocha (4100m).
Wed 13 June: Walk up to Punta Sambuya (4750m), return to camp.
Thu 14 June: Walk up to Punta Mancan (4580m), down to Pocpa (3500m), drive to Huaraz.
Fri 15 June: Drive to Lima.


[Home]
Jon Herring [created 26-Aug-2007, modified 18-Oct-2015]